-14 Removals
+170 Additions
Errata and FAQ Version 1.5Errata and FAQ Version 1.6
Updated 2/9/2015Updated 1/18/2016
11
This document contains errata, rule clarifications, and frequentlyThis document contains errata, rule clarifications, and frequently
asked questions for Descent: Journeys in the Dark Second Edition andasked questions for Descent: Journeys in the Dark Second Edition and
expansions. Additions since the last update appear in red text.expansions. Additions since the last update appear in red text.
ErrataErrata
The following section contains official clarifications and errata toThe following section contains official clarifications and errata to
Descent: Journeys in the Dark Second Edition.Descent: Journeys in the Dark Second Edition.
RulebookRulebook
Page 16, “Large Monsters”: Add, “When interrupting a large monster’sPage 16, “Large Monsters”: Add, “When interrupting a large monster’s
movement to perform an action, the overlord must be able to declare themovement to perform an action, the overlord must be able to declare the
action that the large monster will perform before placing the monster’saction that the large monster will perform before placing the monster’s
figure on the map.”figure on the map.”
Page 18, “Pit”: This section should read, “Pit spaces are defined by aPage 18, “Pit”: This section should read, “Pit spaces are defined by a
green line surrounding them. Each time a figure enters a pit space, thatgreen line surrounding them. Each time a figure enters a pit space, that
figure suffers two damage. A figure in a pit space cannot spend movementfigure suffers two damage. A figure in a pit space cannot spend movement
points. Other game effects that move a figure a number of spaces or placepoints. Other game effects that move a figure a number of spaces or place
a figure in a different space without spending movement points cana figure in a different space without spending movement points can
be used to exit a pit space. A figure in a pit space only has line of sightbe used to exit a pit space. A figure in a pit space only has line of sight
to adjacent figures, and only figures adjacent to a pit space have line ofto adjacent figures, and only figures adjacent to a pit space have line of
sight to a figure in that pit space. As an action, a figure in a pit space maysight to a figure in that pit space. As an action, a figure in a pit space may
remove his figure from the map and place it in an adjacent empty space;remove his figure from the map and place it in an adjacent empty space;
if there is no adjacent empty space, the figure cannot perform this action.if there is no adjacent empty space, the figure cannot perform this action.
Large monsters suffer the effects of entering and being in a pit space onlyLarge monsters suffer the effects of entering and being in a pit space only
if their movement ends or is interrupted so that each space they occupy isif their movement ends or is interrupted so that each space they occupy is
a pit space.”a pit space.”
Page 18, “The Golden Rules”: The first bullet point should read,
“Some cards and abilities come in direct conflict with the rules found in
this rulebook. Cards and abilities take precedence over the rules in this
rulebook. Furthermore, many quest rules listed in the Quest Guides come
in direct conflict with cards, abilities, and the rules found in this rulebook.
The quest rules listed in the Quest Guides take precedence over cards,
abilities, and the rulebook.”
Page 18: Add “Two-Hero Game” section:
When playing with two heroes, the heroes receive an additional
advantage. Once during each hero’s turn, that hero may perform
one attack that does not require an action. This attack cannot be a
special action that includes an attack (“Rage” or “Exploding Rune” for
example); the attack must be a regular attack action. This attack can only
be performed during the “Perform Actions” step of the hero turn and
can be performed before or after either of his actions.
At the end of each hero’s turn, if that hero did not or could not perform
the free attack during his turn, he may instead recover 2 �.
Page 20 and 24, “The Campaign Phase”: The “Shopping” step should
occur before the “Spend Experience Points” step; “Shopping” is step 4, and
“Spend Experience Points” is step 5.
Page 21, “Shopping” third paragraph: The second sentence should read,
“Shuffle the Shop Item cards and reveal five Shop Item cards.”
Page 22, “Act II” transition steps: These steps should read:
1. Perform steps 1-3 of the campaign phase found on page 20.
2. Instead of performing a normal shopping step, the heroes can now
purchase any Act I Shop cards. Deal out all remaining Act I Shop Item
cards faceup. The hero players may purchase any number of Act I Shop
Item cards.
3. Return all unpurchased Act I Shop Item cards, Act I Monster
cards, and Act I Lieutenant cards to the box. Retrieve the Act II Shop
Item cards, Act II Monster cards, and Act II Lieutenant cards from
the box. From now on, all monsters and lieutenants use their Act II
characteristics. Act I Shop Item cards currently in possession of the
heroes are unaffected. Any Act I Shop Item card sold by the heroes
during Act II is returned to the box.
4. Complete the campaign phase by performing steps 5-8 of the
campaign phase found on page 20.
Overlord CardsOverlord Cards
Unholy Ritual: The card should read, “Play this card at the start of yourUnholy Ritual: The card should read, “Play this card at the start of your
turn. Choose one of your monster groups and draw Overlord cards equalturn. Choose one of your monster groups and draw Overlord cards equal
to the number of figures from that group on the map. Choose and keepto the number of figures from that group on the map. Choose and keep
2 cards and discard the rest. Each monster in that group performs 1 less2 cards and discard the rest. Each monster in that group performs 1 less
action during this turn.”action during this turn.”
Bloodlust: The card should read, “Play this card when a hero is knockedBloodlust: The card should read, “Play this card when a hero is knocked
out. Draw 2 Overlord cards. This is in addition to your normal 1out. Draw 2 Overlord cards. This is in addition to your normal 1
Overlord card drawn for defeating a hero.”Overlord card drawn for defeating a hero.”
Reinforce: The card should read, “Play this card at the end of your turnReinforce: The card should read, “Play this card at the end of your turn
and choose a master monster on the map. Place minion monsters of thatand choose a master monster on the map. Place minion monsters of that
monster’s group in empty spaces adjacent to that monster, up to the groupmonster’s group in empty spaces adjacent to that monster, up to the group
limit.”limit. These monsters may not be placed within 3 spaces of any hero, but
may otherwise be placed in any empty space.”
Monster CardsMonster Cards
Elemental, Act I and II: The Air ability should read, “Until the start ofElemental, Act I and II: The Air ability should read, “Until the start of
your next turn, this monster can only be affected by attacks from adjacentyour next turn, this monster can only be affected by attacks from adjacent
figures.”figures.”
Hero SheetsHero Sheets
Grisban the Thirsty: Grisban’s hero ability should read, “Each time youGrisban the Thirsty: Grisban’s hero ability should read, “Each time you
perform a rest action, you may immediately discard 1 Condition cardperform a rest action, you may immediately discard 1 Condition card
from yourself.”from yourself.”
Class CardsClass Cards
Runemaster, “Break the Rune”: This card should read, “Perform an attackRunemaster, “Break the Rune”: This card should read, “Perform an attack
with a Rune weapon. This attack ignores range and targets each other figurewith a Rune weapon. This attack ignores range and targets each other figure
within 3 spaces and in your line of sight. Each figure rolls defense dicewithin 3 spaces and in your line of sight. Each figure rolls defense dice
separately. “separately. “
Knight, “Guard”: This card should read, “When a monster moves into anKnight, “Guard”: This card should read, “When a monster moves into an
empty space adjacent to you, exhaust this card to interrupt that monster’sempty space adjacent to you, exhaust this card to interrupt that monster’s
activation and perform an attack with a Melee weapon. After this attack isactivation and perform an attack with a Melee weapon. After this attack is
resolved, if the monster was not defeated, it may continue its activation.”resolved, if the monster was not defeated, it may continue its activation.”
Necromancer, “Raise Dead”: The card should read, “Place yourNecromancer, “Raise Dead”: The card should read, “Place your
Reanimate familiar token in an empty space adjacent to you.”Reanimate familiar token in an empty space adjacent to you.”
Necromancer, “Dying Command”: This card should read, “Exhaust thisNecromancer, “Dying Command”: This card should read, “Exhaust this
card after you or your Reanimate resolves an attack. Choose 1 monstercard after you or your Reanimate resolves an attack. Choose 1 monster
defeated by that attack and test �. If you fail, recover 1 �. If you pass,defeated by that attack and test �. If you fail, recover 1 �. If you pass,
perform the following in order: return that monster to the map, move it upperform the following in order: return that monster to the map, move it up
to its Speed, perform 1 attack with it, and remove it from the map.”to its Speed, perform 1 attack with it, and remove it from the map.”
Spirit Speaker, “Ancestor Spirits”: This card should read, “Exhaust thisSpirit Speaker, “Ancestor Spirits”: This card should read, “Exhaust this
card when 1 or more monsters suffer � from 1 of your class skills. Each ofcard when 1 or more monsters suffer � from 1 of your class skills. Each of
those monsters is Poisoned.those monsters is Poisoned.
Exhaust this card when 1 or more heroes recover � or � from 1 of yourExhaust this card when 1 or more heroes recover � or � from 1 of your
class skills. Each of those heroes recovers 1 � and 1 �.”class skills. Each of those heroes recovers 1 � and 1 �.”
Quest GuideWildlander, “Running Shot”: This card should read, “Each time you
perform an attack with a Bow, you may move up to 2 spaces either before
declaring a target or after the attack resolves. If you have Heavy Armor
equipped, you may only move 1 space.”
The Shadow Rune Quest Guide
Page 6, “Castle Daerion,” Special Rules: Villager Health should be 8Page 6, “Castle Daerion,” Special Rules: Villager Health should be 8
instead of 6.instead of 6.
Page 7, “Castle Daerion.” Setup: Should read, “Any surviving villagersPage 7, “Castle Daerion.” Setup: Should read, “Any surviving villagers
from Encounter 1 are placed on the Entrance tile or the closest availablefrom Encounter 1 are placed on the Entrance tile or the closest available
empty spaces at the end of the last hero’s first turn.”empty spaces at the end of the last hero’s first turn.”
Page 7, “Castle Daerion,” Special Rules: Add, “After testing to marshalPage 7, “Castle Daerion,” Special Rules: Add, “After testing to marshal
defenders, Sir Palamon may perform 1 move action.”defenders, Sir Palamon may perform 1 move action.”
In addition, the brown defense die listed for Sir Palamon’s Defense shouldIn addition, the brown defense die listed for Sir Palamon’s Defense should
be a gray defense die instead, and instead of 0, his listed Speed should be 4.be a gray defense die instead, and instead of 0, his listed Speed should be 4.
Page 9, “The Cardinal’s Plight,” Special Rules: “When a hero ends hisPage 9, “The Cardinal’s Plight,” Special Rules: “When a hero ends his
turn adjacent to Cardinal Koth,” should be changed to “When a hero firstturn adjacent to Cardinal Koth,” should be changed to “When a hero first
opens the door to the Library,”opens the door to the Library,”
Page 10, “The Masquerade Ball,” Victory: Change 3rd line to, “ThePage 10, “The Masquerade Ball,” Victory: Change 3rd line to, “The
heroes roll a die (depending on the number of heroes) to determineheroes roll a die (depending on the number of heroes) to determine
whether Lord Theodir is among the guests they have rescued; roll a brownwhether Lord Theodir is among the guests they have rescued; roll a brown
defense die for a 2-hero game, a gray defense die for a 3-hero game, or adefense die for a 2-hero game, a gray defense die for a 3-hero game, or a
black defense die for a 4-hero game. If the heroes did not rescue at least 1black defense die for a 4-hero game. If the heroes did not rescue at least 1
guest, they did not rescue Lord Theodir regardless of the result.”guest, they did not rescue Lord Theodir regardless of the result.”
Page 40, “The Man Who Would Be King”: Splig should start the questPage 40, “The Man Who Would Be King”: Splig should start the quest
in the adjacent space on the opposite side of the door.in the adjacent space on the opposite side of the door.
Reference Cards
Overlord Turn Summary, “1. Start of turn”: Should read,
I. Draw 1 Overlord card and start of turn abilities.
II. Refresh cards.
Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently Asked Questions
The following section provides answers to many Descent: Journeys in theThe following section provides answers to many Descent: Journeys in the
Dark Second Edition rules questions.Dark Second Edition rules questions.
General RulesGeneral Rules
Q: Do hero players have to agree on their turn order before the first hero acts?Q: Do hero players have to agree on their turn order before the first hero acts?
A: Hero players do not have to determine the exact order in which eachA: Hero players do not have to determine the exact order in which each
player takes his turn at the start of the round. They only need to decideplayer takes his turn at the start of the round. They only need to decide
who is going to take their turn first. After each hero player takes his turn,who is going to take their turn first. After each hero player takes his turn,
they can decide who takes their turn next.they can decide who takes their turn next.
Q: In the Epic Play Variant, can heroes sell back their starting equipment forQ: In the Epic Play Variant, can heroes sell back their starting equipment for
25 gold each before the game begins like they can in Campaign mode?25 gold each before the game begins like they can in Campaign mode?
A: Yes, hero players may sell back any starting equipment before theA: Yes, hero players may sell back any starting equipment before the
game. Starting equipment is sold for 25 gold each.game. Starting equipment is sold for 25 gold each.
Q: When exactly can cards with a timing of “during your turn” be used?Q: When exactly can cards with a timing of “during your turn” be used?
A: Any skill or ability with a timing of “during your turn” can only beA: Any skill or ability with a timing of “during your turn” can only be
used during the Perform Actions step of a hero’s turn for the heroes andused during the Perform Actions step of a hero’s turn for the heroes and
during the Activate Monsters step of the overlord’s turn for the overlord.during the Activate Monsters step of the overlord’s turn for the overlord.
A player cannot use these skills or abilities at the start of his turn or at theA player cannot use these skills or abilities at the start of his turn or at the
end of his turn.end of his turn.
Q: What abilities affect “figures treated as hero figures?”
A: Hero abilities, monster abilities, monster attacks, and Overlord cards
that can target a hero can also target a figure that is treated as a hero
figure. Figures treated as hero figures may be given conditions and are
affected by terrain. Nothing else affect figures treated as hero figures
unless specifically stated (for example, quest rules and Plot cards).
Line of Sight and Adjacent SpacesLine of Sight and Adjacent Spaces
Q: When tracing line of sight to the corner of a space containing a figure, doesQ: When tracing line of sight to the corner of a space containing a figure, does
the figure occupying the target space block line of sight?the figure occupying the target space block line of sight?
A: Yes, if the line passes through any blocked space (a space containing aA: Yes, if the line passes through any blocked space (a space containing a
figure or obstacle) the target space is not in line of sight. This includes thefigure or obstacle) the target space is not in line of sight. This includes the
target space itself.target space itself.
Q: Are spaces that are separated by a wall (edge of a map tile) adjacent toQ: Are spaces that are separated by a wall (edge of a map tile) adjacent to
each other?each other?
A: No, spaces that are separated by a wall (the black edge of a map tile) areA: No, spaces that are separated by a wall (the black edge of a map tile) are
not adjacent nor are they in line of sight to each other. Although the twonot adjacent nor are they in line of sight to each other. Although the two
spaces technically share a corner, the wall blocks both movement and linespaces technically share a corner, the wall blocks both movement and line
of sight between the two spaces on either side.of sight between the two spaces on either side.
Q: When counting spaces for skills and abilities, such as the Thief skillQ: When counting spaces for skills and abilities, such as the Thief skill
“Greedy,” do other figures block the path? How about doors?“Greedy,” do other figures block the path? How about doors?
A: When counting spaces like this, players ignore all other figures on theA: When counting spaces like this, players ignore all other figures on the
path. Unless line of sight is specifically stated as a requirement, figurespath. Unless line of sight is specifically stated as a requirement, figures
only need to be in range for these skills or abilities to work. However,only need to be in range for these skills or abilities to work. However,
doors do block this path. A Thief cannot use “Greedy” through a doordoors do block this path. A Thief cannot use “Greedy” through a door
because he cannot count spaces through the door.because he cannot count spaces through the door.
Q: Should gaps in a map (areas where there are no tiles) be defined asQ: Should gaps in a map (areas where there are no tiles) be defined as
blocked spaces when considering other rules, such as line of sight?blocked spaces when considering other rules, such as line of sight?
A: Areas between map tiles do not contain any spaces because they areA: Areas between map tiles do not contain any spaces because they are
not on map tiles. In addition, the black borders found on the edge of mapnot on map tiles. In addition, the black borders found on the edge of map
tiles represent impassable walls that block line of sight, movement, andtiles represent impassable walls that block line of sight, movement, and
any path when counting spaces.any path when counting spaces.
Class CardsClass Cards
Q: Can the Knight use “Advance” to move without performing the attack?Q: Can the Knight use “Advance” to move without performing the attack?
A: Yes.A: Yes.
Q: Does the Disciple’s “Prayer of Healing” require an action?Q: Does the Disciple’s “Prayer of Healing” require an action?
A: No. Any skill or ability that requires an action to perform is denotedA: No. Any skill or ability that requires an action to perform is denoted
with a �.with a �.
ConditionsConditions
Q: Does the Stunned condition take away a figure’s entire turn?Q: Does the Stunned condition take away a figure’s entire turn?
A: No, the Stunned condition causes a figure to use its first action toA: No, the Stunned condition causes a figure to use its first action to
discard the Condition card. After a Stunned card or token is discarded,discard the Condition card. After a Stunned card or token is discarded,
the figure is free to perform a second action. If a figure becomes Stunnedthe figure is free to perform a second action. If a figure becomes Stunned
during its turn after performing its first action, its second action must beduring its turn after performing its first action, its second action must be
used to discard the Stunned card or token.used to discard the Stunned card or token.
Q: What happens when a figure is Immobilized during a move action?Q: What happens when a figure is Immobilized during a move action?
A: That figure’s move action immediately ends, and that figure’sA: That figure’s move action immediately ends, and that figure’s
remaining movement points are reduced to 0.remaining movement points are reduced to 0.
Q: When Immobilized, can a figure use skills and abilities that allowQ: When Immobilized, can a figure use skills and abilities that allow
movement not related to a move action?movement not related to a move action?
A: Yes. Any skill or ability that does not refer to performing a moveA: Yes. Any skill or ability that does not refer to performing a move
action may be used while a figure is Immobilized. This includes skillsaction may be used while a figure is Immobilized. This includes skills
or abilities that remove a figure from the map and place it in anotheror abilities that remove a figure from the map and place it in another
space, skills or abilities that allow a figure to move an amount of spacesspace, skills or abilities that allow a figure to move an amount of spaces
based upon its Speed, and skills and abilities by which a figure can gainbased upon its Speed, and skills and abilities by which a figure can gain
movement points.movement points.
Q: If a condition is applied to an attack that uses Blast, do all figures affectedQ: If a condition is applied to an attack that uses Blast, do all figures affected
by the attack suffer the condition?by the attack suffer the condition?
A: Yes, but each figure affected by the attack still needs to be dealt at leastA: Yes, but each figure affected by the attack still needs to be dealt at least
1 � (after its own defense roll) in order to suffer the condition.1 � (after its own defense roll) in order to suffer the condition.
Knocked Out HeroesKnocked Out Heroes
Q: What happens when a hero is defeated during his turn?Q: What happens when a hero is defeated during his turn?
A: If a hero is defeated during his own turn, that hero’s turn immediately ends.A: If a hero is defeated during his own turn, his turn immediately ends.
Q: Can a knocked out hero do anything after standing up during his turn?Q: Can a knocked out hero do anything after standing up during his turn?
A: After performing a stand up action, the hero’s turn immediately ends.A: After performing a stand up action, the hero’s turn immediately ends.
This means the hero cannot suffer any fatigue to gain movement pointsThis means the hero cannot suffer any fatigue to gain movement points
or use any other skills or abilities.or use any other skills or abilities.
Q: If a hero is knocked out, does he have to stand up during his turn?Q: If a hero is knocked out, does he have to stand up during his turn?
A: A hero is not required to perform any actions on his turn. If a hero isA: No. A hero is not required to perform any actions on his turn.
knocked out, he can choose to remain knocked out by not performing any
actions, thus ending his turn.
MovementMovement
Q: Can a figure interrupt its move action to perform another move action,Q: Can a figure interrupt its move action to perform another move action,
and if so, how are the spaces moved through during the first and second moveand if so, how are the spaces moved through during the first and second move
action differentiated (and what happens if a card instructs you to “end youraction differentiated (and what happens if a card instructs you to “end your
move action”)? How do the players differentiate between spaces that weremove action”)? How do the players differentiate between spaces that were
moved through due to an action and spaces that were moved through due tomoved through due to an action and spaces that were moved through due to
suffering fatigue?suffering fatigue?
A: When a figure performs a move action, that figure receives a numberA: When a figure performs a move action, that figure receives a number
of movement points equal to his Speed. A figure can interrupt its moveof movement points equal to his Speed. A figure can interrupt its move
action to perform an additional move action, which gives that figureaction to perform an additional move action, which gives that figure
additional movement points. There is no need to differentiate the twoadditional movement points. There is no need to differentiate the two
move actions because they are both move actions. If a card instructs youmove actions because they are both move actions. If a card instructs you
to end your move action and that figure performed two move actions,to end your move action and that figure performed two move actions,
then both actions end and that figure loses all unspent movement points.then both actions end and that figure loses all unspent movement points.
However, if a hero player wishes to suffer fatigue to gain movementHowever, if a hero player wishes to suffer fatigue to gain movement
points in the middle of a move action, he must declare exactly when he ispoints in the middle of a move action, he must declare exactly when he is
suffering the fatigue within the move action and which spaces he movessuffering the fatigue within the move action and which spaces he moves
into with those additional movement points.into with those additional movement points.
Q: If a figure interrupts a move action to perform another action, does theQ: If a figure interrupts a move action to perform another action, does the
figure have to be in an empty space?figure have to be in an empty space?
A: Yes, a figure must be in an empty space when ending or interrupting itsA: Yes, a figure must be in an empty space when ending or interrupting its
movement.movement.
Q: If a skill or ability allows a figure to gain movement points duringQ: If a skill or ability allows a figure to gain movement points during
another player’s turn, when can those movement points be used?another player’s turn, when can those movement points be used?
A: Any movement points gained during another player’s turn, such asA: Any movement points gained during another player’s turn, such as
if the Wildlander uses the First Strike skill with the Running Shot skillif the Wildlander uses the First Strike skill with the Running Shot skill
during the overlord’s turn, must be used immediately. If these movementduring the overlord’s turn, must be used immediately. If these movement
points not used before the active player resumes his turn, the movementpoints not used before the active player resumes his turn, the movement
points are lost.points are lost.
Q: Does a large monster suffer damage when “expanding” into spacesQ: Does a large monster suffer damage when “expanding” into spaces
containing lava?containing lava?
A: No. A figure only suffers damage when entering a space containingA: No. A figure only suffers damage when entering a space containing
lava. When ending its movement, the large monster is only considered tolava. When ending its movement, the large monster is only considered to
have entered the one space in which it ended its movement.have entered the one space in which it ended its movement.
FamiliarsFamiliars
Q: Can a hero activate a familiar while knocked out?Q: Can a hero activate a familiar while knocked out?
A: Yes, a familiar can be activated before the knocked out hero performs aA: Yes, a familiar can be activated before the knocked out hero performs a
stand up action, but not after (because standing up immediately ends thestand up action, but not after (because standing up immediately ends the
hero’s turn).hero’s turn).
Q: Can monster abilities that are not attacks affect familiars that are treatedQ: Can monster abilities that are not attacks affect familiars that are treated
as figures?as figures?
A: Yes, any hero or monster ability, monster attack, or Overlord card thatA: Yes, any hero or monster ability, monster attack, or Overlord card that
targets a hero can also target a familiar that is treated as a figure. Questtargets a hero can also target a familiar that is treated as a figure. Quest
special rules that refer to heroes do not include familiars that are treatedspecial rules that refer to heroes do not include familiars that are treated
as figures unless specifically stated.as figures unless specifically stated.
Q: If the Necromancer is defeated, is his reanimate defeated and removedQ: If the Necromancer is defeated, is his reanimate defeated and removed
from the map as well?from the map as well?
A: No, the reanimate is not defeated when the Necromancer is defeated.A: No, the reanimate is not defeated when the Necromancer is defeated.
Unless specifically noted otherwise, familiars treated as figures are onlyUnless specifically noted otherwise, familiars treated as figures are only
defeated when they suffer damage equal or greater than their Health.defeated when they suffer damage equal or greater than their Health.
Q: Can the Necromancer activate his Reanimate familiar at the start of hisQ: Can the Necromancer activate his Reanimate familiar at the start of his
turn, voluntarily destroy it, spend an action during his turn to create a newturn, voluntarily destroy it, spend an action during his turn to create a new
Reanimate familiar, and then activate this new Reanimate at the end of hisReanimate familiar, and then activate this new Reanimate at the end of his
turn?turn?
A: No, a familiar can only be activated once per round. Even though theA: No, a familiar can only be activated once per round. Even though the
Reanimate was removed and placed again, it is still the same familiar.Reanimate was removed and placed again, it is still the same familiar.
Q: What happens if a familiar treated as a figure suffers fatigue?Q: What happens if a familiar treated as a figure suffers fatigue?
A: Similar to monsters, if a familiar treated as a figure suffers any amountA: Similar to monsters, if a familiar treated as a figure suffers any amount
of fatigue, it suffers that amount of damage instead.of fatigue, it suffers that amount of damage instead.
Q: Can a hero spend a surge rolled during a familiar’s attack to recover 1Q: Can a hero spend a surge rolled during a familiar’s attack to recover 1
fatigue?fatigue?
A: No.A: No.
Q: Can Widow Tarha use her hero ability on attacks made with herQ: Can Widow Tarha use her hero ability on attacks made with her
Reanimate?Reanimate?
A: No, Widow Tarha’s hero ability only affects her own attack rolls.A: No, Widow Tarha’s hero ability only affects her own attack rolls.
Q: How much damage (if any) does the Reanimate suffer from the OverlordQ: How much damage (if any) does the Reanimate suffer from the Overlord
card “Explosive Runes”?card “Explosive Runes”?
A: Zero damage. The Reanimate automatically fails any attribute test, butA: Zero damage. The Reanimate automatically fails any attribute test, but
since there is no attribute test rolled, the Reanimate does not suffer anysince there is no attribute test rolled, the Reanimate does not suffer any
damage from “Explosive Runes.”damage from “Explosive Runes.”
Q: If a Reanimate is on the map when the first encounter of a quest ends, doesQ: If a Reanimate is on the map when the first encounter of a quest ends, does
it start on the map for the second encounter or does it have to be summoned?it start on the map for the second encounter or does it have to be summoned?
A: No, the Reanimate does not start any encounter on the map.A: No, the Reanimate does not start any encounter on the map.
MonstersMonsters
Q: When tracing a path for the Fire Breath ability, does the path have to beQ: When tracing a path for the Fire Breath ability, does the path have to be
a straight line?a straight line?
A: No, the path can be traced in any direction and can even changeA: No, the path can be traced in any direction and can even change
direction.direction.
Q: When a large monster interrupts its movement to perform an action, doesQ: When a large monster interrupts its movement to perform an action, does
the figure have to be placed on the map in all empty spaces?the figure have to be placed on the map in all empty spaces?
A: Yes, a large monster cannot interrupt its movement unless it can beA: Yes, a large monster cannot interrupt its movement unless it can be
placed on the map and all the spaces it occupies are empty spaces.placed on the map and all the spaces it occupies are empty spaces.
Q: Can the overlord side of “The Shadow Rune” Relic card only be wieldedQ: Can the overlord side of “The Shadow Rune” Relic card only be wielded
by Zachareth?by Zachareth?
A: Yes, Zachareth is the only lieutenant that can wield “The ShadowA: Yes, Zachareth is the only lieutenant that can wield “The Shadow
Rune.”Rune.”
Q: Can zombies be affected by a “Dash” Overlord card?Q: Can zombies be affected by a “Dash” Overlord card?
A: Yes, a zombie can perform two move actions during its activation if aA: Yes, a zombie can perform two move actions during its activation if a
“Dash” card is played on it.“Dash” card is played on it.
Q: When an Overlord card allows a monster to perform an attack action inQ: When an Overlord card allows a monster to perform an attack action in
addition to its two normal actions, does this allow the monster to performaddition to its two normal actions, does this allow the monster to perform
two attacks in the same turn?two attacks in the same turn?
A: Yes, playing a “Frenzy” card on a monster allows that monster toA: Yes, playing a “Frenzy” card on a monster allows that monster to
perform two attack actions during its activation.perform two attack actions during its activation.
Q: If a hero is adjacent to a master cave spider and he has suffered fatigueQ: If a hero is adjacent to a master cave spider and he has suffered fatigue
equal to his Stamina, can he suffer a damage instead of a fatigue as paymentequal to his Stamina, can he suffer a damage instead of a fatigue as payment
for the spider's Web ability?for the spider's Web ability?
A: Yes, the hero would suffer 1 damage if he moves out of his currentA: Yes, the hero would suffer 1 damage if he moves out of his current
space.space.
Q: Does the “Stealthy” ability affect Melee attacks?Q: Does the “Stealthy” ability affect Melee attacks?
A: Yes. Although Melee attacks do not usually require range to beA: Yes. Although Melee attacks do not usually require range to be
checked, “Stealthy” adds that requirement. When performing a Meleechecked, “Stealthy” adds that requirement. When performing a Melee
attack targeting a figure with “Stealthy,” add the 3 additional range to theattack targeting a figure with “Stealthy,” add the 3 additional range to the
0 normally required. When performing a Melee attack from a space that0 normally required. When performing a Melee attack from a space that
is not adjacent (such as an attack using the “Reach” ability), the requiredis not adjacent (such as an attack using the “Reach” ability), the required
range is 0 plus the additional 3 from “Stealthy.”range is 0 plus the additional 3 from “Stealthy.”
Overlord CardsOverlord Cards
Q: Does “Word of Misery” cause a hero to suffer 1 fatigue for each damageQ: Does “Word of Misery” cause a hero to suffer 1 fatigue for each damage
suffered?suffered?
A: No, “Word of Misery” causes a hero to suffer 1 fatigue each time heA: No, “Word of Misery” causes a hero to suffer 1 fatigue each time he
would suffer any amount of damage. For example, if a hero suffers 3would suffer any amount of damage. For example, if a hero suffers 3
damage, he would suffer 1 fatigue in addition to the 3 damage he suffered.damage, he would suffer 1 fatigue in addition to the 3 damage he suffered.
Q: If a hero has suffered fatigue equal to his Stamina and is affected byQ: If a hero has suffered fatigue equal to his Stamina and is affected by
“Word of Misery,” would the damage he suffers in place of the fatigue trigger“Word of Misery,” would the damage he suffers in place of the fatigue trigger
the effect again?the effect again?
A: No.A: No.
Q: Can a hero suffer fatigue to gain a movement point in response to a "PitQ: Can a hero suffer fatigue to gain a movement point in response to a "Pit
Trap" in order to avoid being Stunned?Trap" in order to avoid being Stunned?
A: No, the effects of “Pit Trap” are applied immediately.A: No, the effects of “Pit Trap” are applied immediately.
Q: Can “Frenzy” be used to perform actions that include attacks, such as theQ: Can “Frenzy” be used to perform actions that include attacks, such as the
elemental’s “Fire” ability?elemental’s “Fire” ability?
A: No. “Frenzy” provides the monster’s basic attack and cannot be usedA: No. “Frenzy” provides the monster’s basic attack and cannot be used
for other abilities.for other abilities.
Quest GuideThe Shadow Rune Campaign
Q: In Encounter 2 of “A Fat Goblin,” if the heroes manage to kill all theQ: In Encounter 2 of “A Fat Goblin,” if the heroes manage to kill all the
goblins before Splig finds Frederick, is this an automatic win for the Heroes?goblins before Splig finds Frederick, is this an automatic win for the Heroes?
Can Splig go fetch/interrogate the remaining prisoners?Can Splig go fetch/interrogate the remaining prisoners?
A: During Encounter 2 of “A Fat Goblin,” Splig can pick up and carryA: During Encounter 2 of “A Fat Goblin,” Splig can pick up and carry
prisoners just like goblin archers. However, Splig must be in the Tortureprisoners just like goblin archers. However, Splig must be in the Torture
Chamber to interrogate the prisoner.Chamber to interrogate the prisoner.
Q: Does “The Masquerade Ball” end if only cultists are left unmasked?Q: Does “The Masquerade Ball” end if only cultists are left unmasked?
A: No, the encounter cannot end before all guests are unmasked. AfterA: No, the encounter cannot end before all guests are unmasked. After
all guests are unmasked, if there are no guests or monsters remaining, theall guests are unmasked, if there are no guests or monsters remaining, the
encounter ends.encounter ends.
Q: In “The Shadow Vault,” when Zachareth is defeated and placed on theQ: In “The Shadow Vault,” when Zachareth is defeated and placed on the
Entrance, does he come back with full Health?Entrance, does he come back with full Health?
A: Yes, Zachareth fully recovers all damage and is placed on the Entrance.A: Yes, Zachareth fully recovers all damage and is placed on the Entrance.
Q: In Encounter 1 of “The Ritual of Shadows,” what happens if Lord MerickQ: In Encounter 1 of “The Ritual of Shadows,” what happens if Lord Merick
Farrow is defeated without a hero dealing at least 1 � to him, such as if theFarrow is defeated without a hero dealing at least 1 � to him, such as if the
overlord plays the “Blood Rage” Overlord card?overlord plays the “Blood Rage” Overlord card?
A: The heroes win the encounter.A: The heroes win the encounter.
Q: In Encounter 1 of “Death on the Wing,” what happens to the overlordQ: In Encounter 1 of “Death on the Wing,” what happens to the overlord
victory condition if players have incorporated an expansion that containsvictory condition if players have incorporated an expansion that contains
additional objective tokens?additional objective tokens?
A: Ignore any objective tokens added from other expansions. If all 10A: Ignore any objective tokens added from other expansions. If all 10
objective tokens from the base game are on the map at the same time, theobjective tokens from the base game are on the map at the same time, the
overlord wins the encounter.overlord wins the encounter.
55
Lair of the WyrmLair of the Wyrm
The following sections include all errataThe following sections include all errata
and frequently asked questions for theand frequently asked questions for the
Lair of the Wyrm expansion.Lair of the Wyrm expansion.
ErrataErrata
The following section contains officialThe following section contains official
clarifications and errata to the Lair of theclarifications and errata to the Lair of the
Wyrm expansion.Wyrm expansion.
Class CardsClass Cards
Geomancer, “Quaking Word”: This card should read, “�: Perform anGeomancer, “Quaking Word”: This card should read, “�: Perform an
attack with a Magic weapon. This attack gains: �: Each monster within 2attack with a Magic weapon. This attack gains: �: Each monster within 2
spaces of a Summoned Stone tests �. Each figure that fails is Stunned.”spaces of a Summoned Stone tests �. Each figure that fails is Stunned.”
RulebookRulebook
Page 5, “Exploring a Secret Room”: Add, “A hero cannot explore aPage 5, “Exploring a Secret Room”: Add, “A hero cannot explore a
secret room if there is already a Secret Room card in play.”secret room if there is already a Secret Room card in play.”
Page 7, “Act Specific Quest Cards”: This section should read,Page 7, “Act Specific Quest Cards”: This section should read,
Some Rumor cards are restricted to particular acts. This is designatedSome Rumor cards are restricted to particular acts. This is designated
by the act icon on the upper left of the Rumor card. The overlord canby the act icon on the upper left of the Rumor card. The overlord can
only play Rumor cards during the act that corresponds with this icon.only play Rumor cards during the act that corresponds with this icon.
At the start of Act II, the overlord must discard all Rumor cards thatAt the start of Act II, the overlord must discard all Rumor cards that
have the Act I restriction from his hand. Any Rumor cards that arehave the Act I restriction from his hand. Any Rumor cards that are
in play that have the Act I restriction are also discarded. He does notin play that have the Act I restriction are also discarded. He does not
draw additional Rumor cards to replace the discarded cards.draw additional Rumor cards to replace the discarded cards.
Secret Room CardsSecret Room Cards
Hidden Stash: The card should read, “Then discard this Secret RoomHidden Stash: The card should read, “Then discard this Secret Room
card and the secret room entrance token.”card and the secret room entrance token.”
Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently Asked Questions
The following section explains answers to many Lair of the WyrmThe following section explains answers to many Lair of the Wyrm
expansion questions.expansion questions.
General RulesGeneral Rules
Q: If an Act I Rumor card with an available quest is in play, are the heroesQ: If an Act I Rumor card with an available quest is in play, are the heroes
and overlord forced to play it before the Interlude?and overlord forced to play it before the Interlude?
A: No, but that quest will no longer be an eligible choice after theA: No, but that quest will no longer be an eligible choice after the
Interlude has been completed.Interlude has been completed.
Class CardsClass Cards
Q: Does a hero discard valor tokens from his Hero sheet when he is defeated?Q: Does a hero discard valor tokens from his Hero sheet when he is defeated?
A: No.A: No.
Monster CardsMonster Cards
Q: How does the hybrid sentinel’s “Prey on the Weak” ability affect a figureQ: How does the hybrid sentinel’s “Prey on the Weak” ability affect a figure
that is treated as a hero but does not have attribute values, such as a familiar?that is treated as a hero but does not have attribute values, such as a familiar?
A: It has no effect on that figure.A: It has no effect on that figure.
Quest GuideQuest Guide
Q: In Encounter 2 of “Armed to the Teeth,” can each hybrid sentinel performQ: In Encounter 2 of “Armed to the Teeth,” can each hybrid sentinel perform
the special action to equip the troops each round?the special action to equip the troops each round?
A: Yes.A: Yes.
66
Labyrinth of RuinLabyrinth of Ruin
The following sections include all errataThe following sections include all errata
and frequently asked questions for theand frequently asked questions for the
Labyrinth of Ruin expansion.Labyrinth of Ruin expansion.
ErrataErrata
The following section contains officialThe following section contains official
clarifications and errata to the Labyrinthclarifications and errata to the Labyrinth
of Ruin expansion.of Ruin expansion.
RulebookRulebook
Page 4, “Elixir Tokens”: Add, “Allies and familiarsPage 4, “Elixir Tokens”: Add, “Allies and familiars treated as hero figures
can also gain elixir tokens. Each time an ally or familiar gains one elixircan also gain elixir tokens. Each time an ally or familiar gains one elixir
token, place it on their card. Allies and familiarstoken, place it on their card. Allies and familiars treated as hero figures
can discard elixir tokens to recover damage just like heroes. Allies andcan discard elixir tokens to recover damage just like heroes. Allies and
familiars discard all elixir tokens on their cardfamiliars treated as hero figures discard all elixir tokens on their card
when they are defeated, when they are summoned, and at the end of eachwhen they are defeated, when they are summoned, and at the end of each
encounter.”encounter.”
Class Cards
Apothecary, “Potent Remedies”: This card should read, “When a hero
discards an elixir token from his Hero sheet, he may roll 1 additional
green power die and recover � equal to the � rolled, in addition to any
� recovered (even if this card is exhausted). You may exhaust this card to
revive an adjacent hero without using an action.”
Quest GuideQuest Guide
Page 14, “Reclamation,” Special Rules, first sentence: Should read,
“The overgrowth in this encounter is extremely dense and difficult to
move through.”
Page 16, “Through the Mist,” Special Rules, second paragraph: “If a
lost hero or ally ever has line of sight to the wisp or is within 3 spaces of a
hero or ally that can measure line of sight to the wisp, the lost hero or ally
is no longer lost.”
Page 25, “Back from the Dead,” Special Rules, first paragraph: Add,
“Figures cannot remove overgrowth as normal.”
Page 29, “Fortune and Glory,” The Hidden Passage: Add, “DoorsPage 29, “Fortune and Glory,” The Hidden Passage: Add, “Doors
cannot be opened or closed normally.”cannot be opened or closed normally.”
Page 28, “Fortune and Glory,” Victory, first sentence: Should read, “If
the hero carrying the prisoner moves off the map through the Exit, read
the following aloud: ...”
Page 31, “Heart of the Wilds,” Defiled Ground, first sentence: ShouldPage 31, “Heart of the Wilds,” Defiled Ground, first sentence: Should
read, “As an action, while on the Wild Garden, a monster with theread, “As an action, while on the Wild Garden, a monster with the
Cursed monster trait may sacrifice itself.”Cursed monster trait may sacrifice itself.”
Page 32, “Let the Truth be Buried,” Special Rules, The Chain, first
sentence of the second paragraph: Should read, “Chain links do not
block line of sight; each time a figure other than Splig enters a space
containing a chain link, that figure’s turn immediately ends.”
Page 33, “Let the Truth be Buried,” Special Rules: Add, “While Splig isPage 33, “Let the Truth be Buried,” Special Rules: Add, “While Splig is
under the overlord’s control, he cannot suffer � or be defeated.under the overlord’s control, he cannot suffer � or be defeated.
Page 33, “Let the Truth be Buried,” Special Rules, last sentence of the
third paragraph: Should read, “While controlled by the heroes, Splig may
move off the map through the Exit at any time. While controlled by the
overlord, Splig may move off the map through the Exit if he has
3 objective tokens on his Lieutenant card.”
Page 34, “Fountain of Insight,” Possessing Allies, last sentence ofPage 34, “Fountain of Insight,” Possessing Allies, last sentence of
second paragraph: Should read, “The overlord can only possess 1 ally andsecond paragraph: Should read, “The overlord can only possess 1 ally and
cannot possess an ally that has been cleansed.”cannot possess an ally that has been cleansed.”
Page 36, “Tipping the Scales,” Special Rules, first sentence: ShouldPage 36, “Tipping the Scales,” Special Rules: Should
read, “As an action, while adjacent to a faceup objective token, a hero thatread, “As an action, while adjacent to a faceup objective token, a hero
is not carrying an objective token may pick it up.”may pick it up. Each hero can only carry 1 weight at a time. As an action,
a hero carrying a weight may…”
Page 36, “Tipping the Scales,” Reinforcements, last sentence of third
paragraph: Should read, “The overlord may reinforce up to 2 monsters,
respecting group limits.”
Page 38, “Web of Power,” Special Rules, first sentence of thirdPage 38, “Web of Power,” Special Rules, first sentence of third
paragraph: Should read, “While Ariad has at least 1 fatigue token on herparagraph: Should read, “While Ariad has at least 1 fatigue token on her
Lieutenant card, she cannot move, be moved, or be activated.”Lieutenant card, she cannot move, be moved, or be activated.”
Page 44, “A Glimmer of Hope,” Monsters: Should read, “Ariad. LordPage 44, “A Glimmer of Hope,” Monsters: Should read, “Ariad. Lord
Merick Farrow. Splig. Serena or Raythen. Zombies. 4 open groups.”Merick Farrow. Splig. Serena or Raythen. Zombies. 4 open groups.”
Page 44, “A Glimmer of Hope,” Setup, fourth paragraph: ShouldPage 44, “A Glimmer of Hope,” Setup, fourth paragraph: Should
read, “Gather 1 red, 1 blue, 1 green, and 1 white objective token. Place 1read, “Gather 1 red, 1 blue, 1 green, and 1 white objective token. Place 1
objective token faceup on each open monster group’s Monster card.”objective token faceup on each open monster group’s Monster card.”
Page 44, “A Glimmer of Hope,” Magical Wards, third paragraph:Page 44, “A Glimmer of Hope,” Magical Wards, third paragraph:
Should read, “At the end of each overlord turn, if there are no objectiveShould read, “At the end of each overlord turn, if there are no objective
tokens on the map, place 1 fatigue token in the overlord’s play area.tokens on the map, place 1 fatigue token in the overlord’s play area.
The TrollfensThe Trollfens
The following sections include all errataThe following sections include all errata
and frequently asked questions for theand frequently asked questions for the
The Trollfens expansion.The Trollfens expansion.
Errata
The following section contains official clarifications and errata to The Trollfens expansion.
RulebookRulebook
Page 5, “Exploring a Secret Room”: Add, “A hero cannot explore aPage 5, “Exploring a Secret Room”: Add, “A hero cannot explore a
secret room if there is already a Secret Room card in play.”secret room if there is already a Secret Room card in play.”
Page 7, “Act Specific Quest Cards”: This section should read,Page 7, “Act Specific Quest Cards”: This section should read,
Some Rumor cards are restricted to particular acts. This is designatedSome Rumor cards are restricted to particular acts. This is designated
by the act icon on the upper left of the Rumor card. The overlord canby the act icon on the upper left of the Rumor card. The overlord can
only play Rumor cards during the act that corresponds with this icon.only play Rumor cards during the act that corresponds with this icon.
At the start of Act II, the overlord must discard all Rumor cards thatAt the start of Act II, the overlord must discard all Rumor cards that
have the Act I restriction from his hand. Any Rumor cards that arehave the Act I restriction from his hand. Any Rumor cards that are
in play that have the Act I restriction are also discarded. He does notin play that have the Act I restriction are also discarded. He does not
draw additional Rumor cards to replace the discarded cards.draw additional Rumor cards to replace the discarded cards.
Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently Asked Questions
The following sections explain answers to The Trollfens expansionThe following sections explain answers to The Trollfens expansion
questions.questions.
Class CardsClass Cards
Q: Can the Prophet use “Soothing Insight” to place the insight token on aQ: Can the Prophet use “Soothing Insight” to place the insight token on a
hero who is knocked-out?hero who is knocked-out?
A: No.A: No.
Q: When he performs an attack, does the Stalker gain the +1 � from “SetQ: When he performs an attack, does the Stalker gain the +1 � from “Set
Trap” for each trap token he is adjacent to?Trap” for each trap token he is adjacent to?
A: No. If the Stalker is adjacent to multiple trap tokens, he gains onlyA: No. If the Stalker is adjacent to multiple trap tokens, he gains only
+1 � on each attack.+1 � on each attack.
Overlord CardsOverlord Cards
Q: When a hero is under the effects of “Dark Host,” is he treated as a monsterQ: When a hero is under the effects of “Dark Host,” is he treated as a monster
for the entire overlord turn?for the entire overlord turn?
A: No. That hero is treated as a monster only when the overlord choosesA: No. That hero is treated as a monster only when the overlord chooses
to perform the move and attack action with that hero. Before and afterto perform the move and attack action with that hero. Before and after
those actions, the hero is still treated as a hero.those actions, the hero is still treated as a hero.
Q: If a hero is under the effects of “Dark Host,” can the overlord play “Dash”Q: If a hero is under the effects of “Dark Host,” can the overlord play “Dash”
or “Frenzy” on him?”or “Frenzy” on him?”
A: No. “Dash” and “Frenzy” are played when the overlord is activating aA: No. “Dash” and “Frenzy” are played when the overlord is activating a
monster. Though the overlord receives a move and attack action with themonster. Though the overlord receives a move and attack action with the
hero affected by “Dark Host,” it is not considered to be an activation.hero affected by “Dark Host,” it is not considered to be an activation.
Labyrinth of RuinLabyrinth of Ruin
Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently Asked Questions
The following sections explain answers to many Labyrinth of RuinThe following sections explain answers to many Labyrinth of Ruin
expansion questions.expansion questions.
General RulesGeneral Rules
Q: What happens if a hero with the sun stone is defeated and the sun stoneQ: What happens if a hero with the sun stone is defeated and the sun stone
token is not picked up before the end of the encounter?token is not picked up before the end of the encounter?
A: The sun stone is returned to that hero.A: The sun stone is returned to that hero.
Q: When a hero climbs out of a pit, can his figure be placed on the oppositeQ: When a hero climbs out of a pit, can his figure be placed on the opposite
side of an elevation line?side of an elevation line?
A: No.A: No.
Overlord CardsOverlord Cards
Q: If the overlord plays “Reflective Ward” and the hero cannot suffer the � orQ: If the overlord plays “Reflective Ward” and the hero cannot suffer the � or
chooses not to, how does a hero determine the amount of damage he suffers?chooses not to, how does a hero determine the amount of damage he suffers?
A: The attacking hero adds up all of the � results, including anyA: The attacking hero adds up all of the � results, including any
additional � the attack gains from � results. Then, he rolls his defenseadditional � the attack gains from � results. Then, he rolls his defense
pool, canceling 1 � for each � result and suffering the rest of the �. Nopool, canceling 1 � for each � result and suffering the rest of the �. No
other effects from the attack, such as a condition, will apply to the hero.other effects from the attack, such as a condition, will apply to the hero.
Hero SheetsHero Sheets
Q: Can Logan Lashley use his Hero Ability if the attack he performs is a miss?Q: Can Logan Lashley use his Hero Ability if the attack he performs is a miss?
A: Yes.A: Yes.
Class CardsClass Cards
Q: When the Hexer uses “Plague Cloud,” are the monsters hexed by theQ: When the Hexer uses “Plague Cloud,” are the monsters hexed by the
card’s effect then also targeted by the card’s attack?card’s effect then also targeted by the card’s attack?
A: Yes.A: Yes.
Q: Can the Hexer use the � ability from “Enfeebling Hex” to hex the targetQ: Can the Hexer use the � ability from “Enfeebling Hex” to hex the target
monster?monster?
A: Yes.A: Yes.
Q: If the Beastmaster performs the special attack with the Wolf usingQ: If the Beastmaster performs the special attack with the Wolf using
“Shadow Hunter,” does that count as the Wolf ’s activation?“Shadow Hunter,” does that count as the Wolf ’s activation?
A: No.A: No.
Quest GuideQuest Guide
Q: During Encounter 2 of “Honor Among Thieves,” what happens ifQ: During Encounter 2 of “Honor Among Thieves,” what happens if
Raythen is present as an ally and reveals a green objective token?Raythen is present as an ally and reveals a green objective token?
A: The hero closest to Raythen on the map draws and keeps the Search card.A: The hero closest to Raythen on the map draws and keeps the Search card.
Q: During setup of “A Glimmer of Hope,” where is the ally placed if playingQ: During setup of “A Glimmer of Hope,” where is the ally placed if playing
with four heroes?with four heroes?
A: Place the ally in the closest empty space to the entrance, on the otherA: Place the ally in the closest empty space to the entrance, on the other
side of the door.side of the door.
88
Shadow of NerekhallShadow of Nerekhall
The following sections include all errataThe following sections include all errata
and frequently asked questions for theand frequently asked questions for the
Shadow of Nerekhall expansion.Shadow of Nerekhall expansion.
ErrataErrata
The following section contains officialThe following section contains official
clarifications and errata to the Shadow ofclarifications and errata to the Shadow of
Nerekhall expansion.Nerekhall expansion.
Quest GuideQuest Guide
Page 12, “Civil War,” Quest map:Page 12, “Civil War,” Quest map:
When placing villager tokens and search tokens during setup, oneWhen placing villager tokens and search tokens during setup, one
villager token and one search token should be placed on Tile 61Avillager token and one search token should be placed on Tile 61A
as indicated in the following image:as indicated in the following image:
Page 35, “Arise My Friends,” Quest map: “Rocky Passage”Page 35, “Arise My Friends,” Quest map: “Rocky Passage”
should be identified as tile 20A, not tile 6A.should be identified as tile 20A, not tile 6A.
Class CardsClass Cards
Conjurer, “Mirror Image”: This card should read, “UseConjurer, “Mirror Image”: This card should read, “Use
this card during your turn and suffer � equal to the numberthis card during your turn and suffer � equal to the number
of image tokens on the map.of image tokens on the map.
Overlord CardsOverlord Cards
Diverse Means: This card should read, “Play this card when aDiverse Means: This card should read, “Play this card when a
monster is attacked, after dice are rolled.”monster is attacked, after dice are rolled.”
Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently Asked Questions
The following sections explain answers to Shadow of NerekhallThe following sections explain answers to Shadow of Nerekhall
expansion questions.expansion questions.
RulebookRulebook
Q: Which cards are used for traveling if the players choose a quest on aQ: Which cards are used for traveling if the players choose a quest on a
Quest card while playing the Shadow of Nerekhall campaign?Quest card while playing the Shadow of Nerekhall campaign?
A: Travel Event cards are used.A: Travel Event cards are used.
Class CardsClass Cards
Q: Can the Skirmisher use “Dual Strike” when performing a Ranged attackQ: Can the Skirmisher use “Dual Strike” when performing a Ranged attack
if he has two Melee weapons with 1 hand icon equipped, such as with theif he has two Melee weapons with 1 hand icon equipped, such as with the
“Fire Flask” from the Search deck?“Fire Flask” from the Search deck?
A: No.A: No.
Q: When the Shadow Walker uses “Soul Bound,” when exactly is the ShadowQ: When the Shadow Walker uses “Soul Bound,” when exactly is the Shadow
Soul placed?Soul placed?
A: The Shadow Soul is placed after resolving all the steps of combat thatA: The Shadow Soul is placed after resolving all the steps of combat that
may cause the attack to be a miss. This is usually after the Shadow Walkermay cause the attack to be a miss. This is usually after the Shadow Walker
rolls dice and checks range, but may happen during a later point of therolls dice and checks range, but may happen during a later point of the
attack if it is still not determined if the attack is a miss or not (such asattack if it is still not determined if the attack is a miss or not (such as
needing to spend 1 � for the shadow dragon’s “Shadow” ability).needing to spend 1 � for the shadow dragon’s “Shadow” ability).
Q: What happens if the Shadow Soul is on the map when the ShadowQ: What happens if the Shadow Soul is on the map when the Shadow
Walker uses a skill that instructs him to place the Shadow Soul on the map?Walker uses a skill that instructs him to place the Shadow Soul on the map?
A: The Shadow Soul is removed from its current location and placed asA: The Shadow Soul is removed from its current location and placed as
instructed.instructed.
99
Manor of RavensManor of Ravens
The following sections include all errataThe following sections include all errata
and frequently asked questions for theand frequently asked questions for the
Manor of Ravens expansion.Manor of Ravens expansion.
ErrataErrata
The following section contains officialThe following section contains official
clarifications and errata to the Manor ofclarifications and errata to the Manor of
Ravens expansion.Ravens expansion.
Hero Sheets
Thaiden Mistpeak: Thaiden’s hero ability should read, “Each time you
perform an attack, after dice are rolled, you may cancel the attack and
immediately search a search token within 3 spaces of you.”
Quest GuideQuest Guide
Page 18, “Where the Heart Is,” Reinforcements, first paragraph:Page 14, “Finders and Keepers”: Replace both occurrences of “hero’s
play area” with “heroes’ play area.”
Page 16, “My House, My Rules,” Rewards, third paragraph: Should
read, “If Skarn was not knocked unconscious, the overlord receives the
“Endless Supply” Overlord card.”
Page 18, “Where the Heart Is,” Reinforcements, second paragraph:
Should read, “At the end of each overlord turn, if Skarn is not on the mapShould read, “At the end of each overlord turn, if Skarn is not on the map
and 1 or more master monsters are on the Basement...”and 1 or more master monsters are on the Basement...”
Page 22, “Beneath the Manor,” Victory, first paragraph: Replace “...if
Skarn moves off the map and there are no objective tokens...” with “...if
Skarn moves off the map and there are no blue objective tokens...”
Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently Asked Questions
The following sections explain answers to Manor of Ravens expansionThe following sections explain answers to Manor of Ravens expansion
questions.questions.
Overlord CardsOverlord Cards
Q: When the overlord exhausts “Call of the Ravens,” can he choose the RavenQ: When the overlord exhausts “Call of the Ravens,” can he choose the Raven
Flock to suffer the � and then place it adjacent to its original space?Flock to suffer the � and then place it adjacent to its original space?
A: No.A: No.
COOPERATIVECOOPERATIVE
ADVENTURESADVENTURES
The following sections include all errataThe following sections include all errata
and frequently asked questions for theand frequently asked questions for the
Cooperative Adventure expansions.Cooperative Adventure expansions.
ErrataErrata
The following section contains official clarifications and errata to theThe following section contains official clarifications and errata to the
Cooperative Adventure expansions.Cooperative Adventure expansions.
Nature’s Ire, Exploration card, “Cabin of the Lost, first paragraph:Nature’s Ire, Exploration card, “Cabin of the Lost, first paragraph:
Add, “Each space Zaldara occupies is an exit space.”Add, “Each space Zaldara occupies is an exit space.”
Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently Asked Questions
The following sections explain answers to Manor of Ravens expansionThe following sections explain answers to Cooperative Adventure expansion
questions.questions.
Q: What cards and rules affect or target familiars?Q: What cards and rules affect or target familiars?
A: Familiars are only considered heroes for Activation cards. When textA: Familiars are only considered heroes for Activation cards. When text
on Peril cards, Exploration cards, the cooperative adventure rules, or theon Peril cards, Exploration cards, the cooperative adventure rules, or the
encounter guide references heroes or hero figures, it is not referring toencounter guide references heroes or hero figures, it is not referring to
familiars, only actual heroes with Hero sheets.familiars, only actual heroes with Hero sheets.
Q: Can monsters attack the Geomancer’s Summoned Stones since they’re notQ: Can monsters attack the Geomancer’s Summoned Stones since they’re not
familiars?familiars?
A: When determining the target of an Activation card, SummonedA: When determining the target of an Activation card, Summoned
Stones are considered to be heroes.Stones are considered to be heroes.
Q: In Nature’s Ire, is Desmond’s initial defense die black or gray?
A: Desmond’s initial defense die is gray.
1010
Lieutenant PacksLieutenant Packs
The following sections include all errata and frequently asked questionsThe following sections include all errata and frequently asked questions
for the Lieutenant Packs.for the Lieutenant Packs.
ErrataErrata
The following section contains official clarifications and errata to theThe following section contains official clarifications and errata to the
Lieutenant Packs.Lieutenant Packs.
Agent CardsAgent Cards
Tristayne Olliven, Act II: Attack type icon should be a Ranged icon, notTristayne Olliven, Act II: Attack type icon should be a Ranged icon, not
a Melee icon.a Melee icon.
Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently Asked Questions
The following section explains answers to Lieutenant Pack questions.The following section explains answers to Lieutenant Pack questions.
Threat TokensThreat Tokens
Q: Are threat tokens limited by the supply?Q: Are threat tokens limited by the supply?
A: No.A: No.
Plot CardsPlot Cards
Q: Can Plot cards target allies, familiars, or other figures “treated as heroes?”Q: Can Plot cards target allies, familiars, or other figures “treated as heroes?”
A: No.A: No.
AgentsAgents
Q: Do agents use the traits of their open monster group?Q: Do agents use the traits of their open monster group?
A: Yes.A: Yes.
Hero and MonsterHero and Monster
collectionscollections
The following sections include all errata and frequently asked questionsThe following sections include all errata and frequently asked questions
for the Hero and Monster Collections.for the Hero and Monster Collections.
ErrataErrata
The following section contains official clarifications and errata to theThe following section contains official clarifications and errata to the
Hero and Monster Collections.Hero and Monster Collections.
Monster CardsMonster Cards
Crown of Destiny, “Giant” Monster card:Crown of Destiny, “Giant” Monster card, and Visions of Dawn, “Troll” card:
“Sweep” should read, “Perform an attack. This attack affects each other figure within 2“Sweep” should read, “Perform an attack. This attack affects each other figure within 2
spaces and line of sight of this monster. Each figure rolls defense dicespaces and line of sight of this monster. Each figure rolls defense dice
separately...”separately...”
Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently Asked Questions
The following section explains answers to Lieutenant Pack questions.The following section explains answers to Lieutenant Pack questions.
Monster CardsMonster Cards
Q: While using the “Morph” ability, does the Chaos Beast use the dice thatQ: While using the “Morph” ability, does the Chaos Beast use the dice that
the chosen figure gains from skills or other abilities, like the additional yellowthe chosen figure gains from skills or other abilities, like the additional yellow
power die the Reanimate gains from “Vampiric Blood” or the additionalpower die the Reanimate gains from “Vampiric Blood” or the additional
yellow power die the Raven Flock gains during Act II?yellow power die the Raven Flock gains during Act II?
A: The “Morph” ability only uses the dice printed on the chosen figure’sA: The “Morph” ability only uses the dice printed on the chosen figure’s
card or weapon. Any game effects that add dice to the chosen figure’scard or weapon. Any game effects that add dice to the chosen figure’s
attack pool do not add dice to the Chaos Beast’s attack pool.attack pool do not add dice to the Chaos Beast’s attack pool.
11
Lair of
the Wyrm
Labyrinth
of Ruin
The
Trollfens
Shadow of
Nerekhall
Manor
of Ravens
Mists
of Bilehall
Forgotten
Souls
Nature’s
Ire
Dark
Elements
Oath of
the Outcast
Crown
of Destiny
Crusade of
the Forgotten
Guardians
of Deephall
Visions
of Dawn
Bonds of
the Wild
Treaty
of Champions
Stewards of
the Secret
Expansion Icons
Tile Distribution
The following section lists the tile codes for each product:
Descent: Journeys in the
Dark Second Edition:
1 - 30
Lair of the Wyrm:
31 - 35, S1
Labyrinth of Ruin:
36 - 43
The Trollfens:
43 - 49, S2
Shadow of Nerekhall:
50 - 69
Manor of Ravens:
70 - 77
Mists of Bilehall:
78 - 87
Editor
Clear
Original Text
Changed Text